

MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty, Staff, and Students, Department of Philosophy
From: Professor William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean
Date: 15 March 2022
Re: Call for Nominations - Chair Search Committee, Department of Philosophy
Note: For distribution widely

Professor Sonia Sedivy will complete her term as Chair of the Department of Philosophy on 30 June 2022. While she is eligible for reappointment, Professor Sedivy has informed me that she does not wish to consider a second term. As a first step in the process, I will be establishing a Search Committee to advise on the appointment of a new Chair.

I am writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee. In accordance with Section 12 of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* (Perron Rules), the committee will have members of your department, including faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduates, as well as a representative from another cognate department.

Please nominate as many in each category as you wish, and include a brief description of your reasons for suggesting each of the persons you name. The committee membership will be announced once we receive approval from the Provost and an announcement for nominations will be included.

Please send your suggestions for Committee members by email to Fefe Wong, Manager Academic HR, at <u>academichr.utsc@utoronto.ca</u> no later than **22 March 2022**.